PDA

View Full Version : Compositing


mdunakin
07-04-2005, 12:54 AM
Has anyone here done any REAL compositing with Vue 5 Infinite yet?
I asking, because some of what I will be doing is taking animations of animals
that use Sas for the fur and want to incorperate them into scenes and animations in a Vue scne/animation.

Or maybe I should be asking another question as well?
Such as, will Sas let me make decent composit images
that let the fur show and not just the object?
If you know what I mean?
I can't think of the right terminolgy, but I think you all get what I mean?

Such as this:
http://www.md-arts.com/Hank_DriedGrass_02.jpg
or this:
http://www.md-arts.com/DinoCamel_Grass_800_1.jpg

These scenes were made in LW, BTW :)

Thanx.........................md :)

Ed Bittner
07-06-2005, 04:25 PM
Mark,
I've done an animation with composited objects in Vue5, however none of the objects had any Sas or Sas-lite components. It involved a basic walk cycle,(already animated), of a woman walking toward the camera, and I just dropped her into a Global-Illumated scene of a castle so she could walk along the parapet. Animated it out as an image sequence, loaded the images into Lightwave and used the composite feature to run the sequence as background images. I then used extreme anti-aliasing,( I didn't think it would matter, but it made a difference), and rendered it out. Came out perfect. It was a really simple test, having no camera moves to integrate or anything, but that's next.
E.

mdunakin
07-06-2005, 04:36 PM
Hmmm,,, so Ed, let me see if I got you straight here?
You rendered the Vue scene (with no lady in it?) and then you
brought that sequence into LW and added the lady as the composit?
Or do you mean you made the lady in LW and then brought
her into Vue and did the compisit there?
Or am I just totally lost? :)
I'm confused because it sounds like you made the lady sequence
in LW and then brought her into Vue and then took that sequence
and brought it back into LW, and that's where I'm lost.

Though, pretty soon, I can find out for myself what's up,
as I my Vue 5I is already on it's way her! :)

I think, what I'll do today is some test with Sas and compositing, just to
work out any of those bugs BEFORE I get Vue and that way I'll have a head start.

I've never done this, not one time, and it's long past time to learn it anywho ;)

thanx.............md :)

Ed Bittner
07-06-2005, 05:05 PM
Mark,
Sorry to sound so confusing. So here's the deal:
Animated the woman in Poser
Dropped her into Vue5 Infinite scene
Animated it out to an image sequence
Brought image sequence into LW using its compositing feature
Used sequence as background images and re-rendered with extreme AA
Bingo.
Sorry for the confusion..........
E.

mdunakin
07-06-2005, 05:25 PM
Ahhh,,, OK.

I can see where I got lost now, it was in that last step.
As I guess I'm not quite sure why you would need to render it twice,
since you already did the compositing in Vue and also the rendering in vue?

Was it just that the finals didn't look as good untill you added that
extra bit of AA to the already rendered out sequence in LW?

And could this of been done with an action in PS faster then LW, or no?

In a bit, I'm going to load up that dog scene and do some testing with the Sas fur
and compositing and all and see how it works out, if it works out at all?

thanx too...............md :)

Ed Bittner
07-06-2005, 05:44 PM
Mark,
I could've done it in PS, but I's still only have a bunch of images. I re-animated the first test of this in LW with the basic 5 pass AA and it had the normal artifacts you get rid of with higher AA. So I went with extreme AA. Smooth as silk. You'll notice that Vue5 Infinite has it's own set of artifacting issues if the settings are too low. So add to that the compression,( Divx or whichever), and it can be a little noisy so I always use image sequences. Sorry to be so long- winded.
E.

mdunakin
07-06-2005, 08:27 PM
No, no, no, that wasn't too long winded or anything :)

I was happy to hear it!
And, I can see where you are coming from more as well.
All makes sense to me, so thanx a ton!

And right now, I'm ordering my 6x8 Wacom Tablet.

Should be here in a few days.
Amazon is ALWAYS fast as all get out.....................md :)
And I couldn't pass up the price they have for it right now either!
$281.00 and free shipping :)

CGTalk Moderation
07-06-2005, 08:27 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.