PDA

View Full Version : rigging? polys, subds?

rawgon
07-03-2005, 12:10 PM
Hi everyone, im new to Maya, and have a question, i want to model a simple character in polygons do a rig, paint weights and use blendshapes to make extreme poses look good. my doubt its about using subdivisions, if i use them do i have to rigg, paint weights and do blendshapes with the model allready converted to suddivisions? and if so, i know subds are quite heavy on viewport, is there a way to use a polygon version of the character to animate faster on viewport?

Thank you in advance for help, its really important, im a 3dsmax user, and really want to make a move to maya:D

Kriz
07-04-2005, 03:10 PM
I prefer to have a low resolution polygon model that is wrap deformed to a subD model. Just create your simple polygon model, duplicate and convert to a subD version (should give you a great looking higher res subD version with the base mesh the same as the polygon model), then use a wrap deformer so the polygon model controls the subD model. You will get great performace animating the with polygon version and you can render the high quality subD version. Gnomon has some great skinning DVD's that goes over this whole process in detail.

M.E.L.
07-04-2005, 05:14 PM
Hi everyone, im new to Maya, and have a question, i want to model a simple character in polygons do a rig, paint weights and use blendshapes to make extreme poses look good. my doubt its about using subdivisions, if i use them do i have to rigg, paint weights and do blendshapes with the model allready converted to suddivisions? and if so, i know subds are quite heavy on viewport, is there a way to use a polygon version of the character to animate faster on viewport?

Thank you in advance for help, its really important, im a 3dsmax user, and really want to make a move to maya:D