PDA

View Full Version : 3D Artist wanting info on Programming

amagee3
07-03-2005, 03:53 AM
Hello-

This is actually my first post here on CgTalk. I do come here a lot to look at the artwork though. I wanted to know how valuable to a company is an artist who can also program, and are there people who do this?

Second, which direction in the programming realm should a 3d artist go? Meaning, which programs, languages, schooling etc?

Im wondering these things because I'm at a critical point in my career vs. future family life. I've been animating and designing for about 6 years, and I make a decent living for myself and my wife to live on, but as an artist I dont see myself making enough to support kids etc. So I was thinking of adding some programming skills as well as being an artist, and maybe I would have more options to make a better living in the future.

Has anyone else been through this before? I would also appreciate some thoughts on this, and if anyone else has been through this before.

Thanks
aaron

3Diva
07-03-2005, 08:31 PM
Hi,