PDA

View Full Version : Formatting a script

Saikin
06-29-2005, 02:29 AM
Hi!

I'm new to this scriptwriting business and I was hoping that someone could possibly show me some ways to format a script. Should I write it centered, with the dialogue aligned to the left? Or should I align it to the left and just write it like a college essay paper?

I appreciate any help that you guys/gals can help with.

LordHades
06-29-2005, 04:00 AM
It isn't that easy. There are more than one way to write a script. if it is a screenplay then it is a different format then a TV script. As for plays, again it is different from both. A hint is to make sure you have the right help and more than one source. I started, no by goin to school and writing but by buying books and disecting them. There are some books you can buy that have formatted stories, but the best one to get is called "The complete Guide to Standard Script Formats". I beleive there are 3 books (TV scripts, Screenplays, and Playwrites.). the authors are Cole/haag.

Hope this helps alot as I said before there is no easy way to show the formats. Alot more to it! GL.

Saikin
06-29-2005, 05:49 AM
ok thanks. I'll look into that book you mentioned.

Saikin
07-04-2005, 05:51 AM
ok, I looked at some scripts on here and saw how a few of the writers formatted theirs. I was wondering if the centered style was the most common or would you suggest I jot down ideas on paper first and then format it the way I see fit?

thanks

fwtep
07-04-2005, 05:43 PM
ok, I looked at some scripts on here and saw how a few of the writers formatted theirs. I was wondering if the centered style was the most common or would you suggest I jot down ideas on paper first and then format it the way I see fit?