PDA

View Full Version : Alpha maps? Bump maps? normal maps? spec maps? :S

Missed
06-25-2005, 02:16 AM
Hey guys, im new to 3d design and im just starting to get the hang of all basics and everythng. Sinec i have been a member of this forum my skill has been increasing alot faster. But i have a question, i have been reading alot about all these maps, and i kinda lost track :P. Well my question is , How do i and what do i need to make alpha,bump,normal,spec maps and how do i put them on my model.

You time is greatly apreciated :)

Thanks

gamePat
06-25-2005, 01:04 PM
I would look through some good tutorials, that are around the internet.
One good webpage for tutorials is 3DTotal.com (http://http://67.15.36.49/team/Tutorials/leafproject/leaf_1.asp) for an overview of
many maps.
Normal-Mappping is especially for games, in order to fake geometry-detail.
Here (http://www.monitorstudios.com/bcloward/tutorials_normal_maps1.html)is a good explanation of what is a normal-map.
For adding such a map on a 3D-Model I would look for help in the "help-file"
of your Modelling Program. It depends from the Program you use,
but when you create materials in the "material editor" of your
Programm, you can add maps in special slots ( such as "Bump-map" or "Opacity" ).
I hope i could help you a bit for the start with that...good luck :thumbsup:

ChimpanG
06-25-2005, 04:53 PM
Do you understand the concept of a texture?
well basically 'maps' in the sense of game art are textures.

You have your basic 'colour' map or 'diffuse' as max calls it, this is basic paint onto your model.

You have a bump-map which adds bumps or indents to your model, basically making it not-flat

You have normal-maps which are like bump-maps' on steroids, they are far more convincing than bumpmaps, with bumpmaps if you look at them side on, they are still flat; normal maps combat this and you can have a far more realistic bump.

specular maps ...well simply control the "shine" on your model