PDA

View Full Version : How does one become an Extra in a film?

Boone
06-22-2005, 09:37 PM
I was watching the AOTC DVD documentory called "A twinkle beyond Pluto" the other night and thought "Hey! That would be a great summer job!":bounce:

I am of course refering to the wacky-world of "film extras". Is it really true that anyone can walk up to a film studio and ask to be in the background of a sizzling blockbuster? Or are they likely to say "On yer bike, Sunshine!" for such shocking audacity?:wip:

Does anyone know of any studios in and around London where I can quite easily get a job as an Extra? Anyone here ever done this kind of work? :shrug:

Somhairle
06-22-2005, 11:58 PM
Hi Boone,

Film Extra work is a lot of fun most times (female extras you get to meet ;)....ahem, and the breakfasts/lunches, etc)

I worked as an extra when I was out of full-time work for a year and I had 3-4 days a week on various Feature Films/TV shows. I was lucky as many said it was usually very patchy. My first experience was when I walked up to the wardrobe department for Braveheart and asked if I could partake as an extra....the next day I was being fitted for costumes. But from talking to crew members, I discovered that I should join the "Irish actor’s equity group" as a panel member. a yearly fee and anyone can join. but once I started being an "offical" extra I began talking to A.D.'s (Assistant Directors) and they later called me for future projects...etc, etc.

The cool thing is that you *usually* have lunch with the main cast in marquees, or whatever. and its a great way to make industry contacts!

downfalls: the odd-hours (depending on the film) usually you need to be in the wardrobe dept. at 7am for getting ready and then 8/8:30am on location. but sometimes I had a wardrobe call at 7pm and worked into the night, finishing at 4am. so depending on the extras you meet on set, this could lead to a nice party with a gang of them!