PDA

View Full Version : Short Film Process

robbyhsu
06-22-2005, 03:56 PM
Hi,
I am new in 3D animation, I would be making a short film for a demo reel shortly, by what I had gathered I have enlisted the following steps in the making of a short film. I specified weights (out of 10) according to the time that I should be spending on the steps, I need some input from you guys,
1) whether I have missed any crucial step
2) Whether the order of the steps are alright
3) If the weights I have put is ok..

The steps are as follows:
Step01: Story Concept (7)
Step02: Story Detailing (4)
Step03: Character Sketch (7)
Step04: Storyboard (6)
Step05: Modelling (6)
Step06: Character Rigging (6)
Step07: Animation (5)
Step08: Camera Setup (4)
Step09: Lighting (4)
Step10: Texture (4)
Step11: Post Production (3)

All feedbacks and suggestions will be most welcomed.

Thanks in advance,
Robert.

dobermunk
06-23-2005, 09:15 AM
Hi Robert, all the best on your film.

Don't forget the very important animatic. If you come from 2D, think of this as the leica reel. Basically, make the film, only don't worry about anything technical - no rig, render or anything but camera, position, story and timing. Sound is another important factor to work in at least sketch-quality during this phase.
If its a simple production, might be overlappable with layout (camera work) but do it early on, right after storyboard. Use simple 3D stand-in objects if you like, but spend the effort to do this. It'll pay off later.

zurfer
06-23-2005, 11:03 AM