PDA

View Full Version : New to Tablet

plastik892
06-18-2005, 02:59 AM
I recently purchased a Wacom Intuos3 tablet. Im a fairly experienced artist and am a graphic designer by trade, but Im finding the tablet usage taxing. What I know I can do smoothly by hand is difficult at best digitally. Can someone give me insight, but personal experience I guess, as to how long it may take to adjust? And are their exercises I should be aware of that would speed my development along?

Thanks.

Drevious
06-18-2005, 02:27 PM
1. dont draw digitally as in real, and dont expect to totally imitate natural drawing tricks
2. still, drawing on a elbow works as in real, and its quite useful, but if u got tablet smaller than A4 (and A5 which is to small for me for example) it would be hard.
3. excercise- tutorials, there is A LOT of free tutorials over internet where u can find what is the philosophy of a digital process. hmm check for example feng zhu web site. artbyfeng.com - there is a quite nice walkthrough steps

good luck, let the force be with you :)

plastik892
06-19-2005, 09:10 AM
1. dont draw digitally as in real, and dont expect to totally imitate natural drawing tricks
2. still, drawing on a elbow works as in real, and its quite useful, but if u got tablet smaller than A4 (and A5 which is to small for me for example) it would be hard.
3. excercise- tutorials, there is A LOT of free tutorials over internet where u can find what is the philosophy of a digital process. hmm check for example feng zhu web site. artbyfeng.com - there is a quite nice walkthrough steps

good luck, let the force be with you :)

Thanks for the thoughts. :D

lokki
06-20-2005, 04:52 AM
The only exercise I can recommend is playing. Seriously. Work like you expect to, and learn the adjustments as necessary. And don't look at your hand!