PDA

View Full Version : Maps for Game texturing

Hee
06-08-2005, 04:27 AM
Hi, I am new in game texturing.
I wonder how I should check my texture. Should I base on hardware rendering or software rendering? And also what maps are allowed in game engines or consoles?
According to my research, I found out that
color map
specular map
transparency map
bump map/normal map
are accepted in games. Am I right?

Thank you.

rendorx
06-08-2005, 10:43 AM
I would say so yes.
But you don't need to use them all at the same time though. (although it might occur occasionally)

Hee
06-09-2005, 12:04 AM
thanks, rendorx.

So... that's mean you have to use software rendering to check your texture works, right?
Because from my understanding, hardware rendering don't display alpha map, specular map and bump map.

rendorx
06-09-2005, 09:20 AM
Depends on your platform I think;
for consoles, you should check it in hardware because most of these things are built in.
on pc you have a wide range of graphics cards so its wise to check on several cards.
frankly, I am not sure what the point would be to check in a software renderer, unless you mean rendering from a program like max or maya

kaylon
06-09-2005, 11:48 AM
You test your textures (materials) in the engine that they will be used in.

As far as what shaders are used... totaly depends on the engine. Most now support several layers of shaders including the ones you have mentioned. The prob this produces is app's like Max and Maya may not and most of the time do not support the same shader or material systems so you are still working semi blind until you actually veiw them in a running build of your game.

Gone are the days of a single texture with an Alpha...textures are dead, everything is now materials. Materials are based on several textures to produce the end result. ANd the end result can only ever been seen using the engine your working with and plugins supplied by the engine vendor or coders.

Hee
06-09-2005, 06:29 PM
Thanks kaylon.