PDA

View Full Version : Lightwave Question


Mifa
06-07-2005, 04:59 AM
Hey all i just want to know in LIghtwave when i Drill Or Boolean somthing on a surface why can't i make this surface smother after can some on help please ???


Thx all for your time Mifa

webshot
06-07-2005, 06:23 AM
If you are referring to converting to subpatches. That only works with 4 sided polys. And after a boolean you are often left with what is called ngons....or polys with more than 4 points. Either you can do some mesh clean up with some welding a vertex arrangement. Or you can do your modelling then the freeze then do your booleans.

This is so fresh in my mind because I asked this not too long ago.

blaqDeaph
06-07-2005, 07:49 AM
A Quick and Dirty way of getting around this problem is to press [Shift] + T after you do the boolean subtract; this will convert all the polys into triangles, which you can then subpatch. Works most of time, but if its only a few surfaces, you might be better off killing the polygons and re-making them.

Mifa
06-07-2005, 11:06 PM
thx alot guys for ur help !!!

CGTalk Moderation
06-07-2005, 11:06 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.