PDA

View Full Version : What's all the hype?

Cerenkovman
06-07-2005, 04:49 AM
Sorry if this is a repost, but I'd like to know the answer to my question and I couldn't find where the original went.

What is the big deal about this app. in comparison to the many 3d modeling and animation packages out there? I'm very new to 3d or for that matter cg in general and am very confused with all the different apps. that claim that they are all you need. So if someone would please try to sell me on this, or at least educate me a lil bit. I appreciate all input in advance. Thanks.

Peter Octavian
06-07-2005, 05:45 AM
IMO, it's the most intuitive, and user friendly of all of the 3D programs which I've tried, and the desired results are remarkable.

CArwilk
06-07-2005, 07:47 AM
Well, Vue is very good at landscape creation and rendering - it's not designed for modeling complex objects or animating them. Its function is that of a scene creator, with people adding objects from other applications (e.g. Poser, XSI, Lightwave) to populate their scenery. Vue can help you create trees, terrain and water with relative ease and has a very good renderer. Vue 5 Infinite also has (among other things) an exciting new feature called EcoSystems, which basically allows you to say "okay, I have this terrain - now populate it with trees/rocks/whatever". Okay, that's a simplified statement, but on e-on's website (http://www.e-onsoftware.com/) you'll see plenty of samples of this technology. If you're interested, I recommend that you try the demo version to see if its features suit you. I believe the demo version of Infinite is just around the corner, but the older versions are ready for download right now.