PDA

View Full Version : 3 act structure

TTYO
06-06-2005, 08:02 AM
I am a newbie scriptwriter but I have been writing stories for 10 years now.

I want to know how to plan the scriptwriting process, and what's the 3 act structure

Manuel Ponce
06-06-2005, 03:46 PM
I could be wrong on this one, but I'll give it the old college try.
Example: Boy meets girl (1), Boy loses girl (2), Boy wins girl back (3)
I think its : introduction, conflict, conclusion/resolution
I hope nobody beats me to this post. :)

fwtep
06-06-2005, 05:09 PM
Basically, the three acts are:

1) Introducing the character, his outer goal (get R2 to the Rebel leader) and his inner goal (become a man). The act ends with the hero making the decision-- or being forced into the decision-- to act. In Star Wars, act 1 ends with Luke's decision to go to Mos Eisley. (Note: the hero rarely, if ever, is aware of the inner goal. But that goal is what makes them human to us. Look up "character arc.")

2) The trials and tribulations of reaching the inner and outer goal. This is the ups and downs of the story. In Star Wars it starts as Luke and Obi-Wan leave Luke's burning home, and it ends when they reach Yavin.

3) The final conflict and reaching the goals. In Star Wars it begins with the arrival at Yavin. The outer goal ends there-- delivering the plans inside R2-- but the inner goal doesn't really end until the Death Star battle, when Luke finally grows up and gains his self-confidence. The true climax is when the character makes a conscious decision to change. For Luke it's when he turns off the targeting device and trusts himself. Up to that point he was really just a kid, reacting to what was going on and following everyone else's orders.