PDA

View Full Version : how to HDRI in MAX ?


Indigo
10-15-2002, 07:44 PM
Need someone to explain to me how to light the scene using just HDRI image in MAX

anyone?

thx

I'm using max5, brazil v1.0, but I also have final render :)

drewbie
10-15-2002, 09:46 PM
If you're using Brazil 1.0 with the HDRI, there should be example files and tutorials on your account page that go in detail about how to use it properly.

-D

CHRiTTeR
10-16-2002, 03:10 AM
Well,

If you're using max4 it isn't possible without plugins.
If you're using max5 it's possible without plugins.

The only thing u have to do is convert your HDR-bitmap into a floating point tiff (u can do this with HDR shop, free download avaiable at HDR shop website (http://www.debevec.org/HDRShop/) ).
Then use this bitmap in the skylight light in max.
Enable lighttracer in advanced lighting, and there u go!


Shure it hasn't as many options as a HDR bitmap, but it sure does the trick!


GReeTZ,
CHRiTTeR

Indigo
10-16-2002, 03:37 PM
Ok, I got it, but here's a funny question, I'm a bit ashamed to ask, but where is the "Enable lighttracer in advanced lighting" located ?

I searched all over but could not find it...

CHRiTTeR
10-16-2002, 05:37 PM
From the menus above choose:

render>advanced lighting

Choose lighttracer from rolldown.

CGTalk Moderation
01-13-2006, 07:00 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.