PDA

View Full Version : Learning flame* and compositing reel questions

rhino23
06-01-2005, 04:56 AM
I graduated in Dec. with a BFA in 3d animation and video, and secured an internship with a local "production" studio that has turned into a part-time position, at least for the time being. The studio does a good job at what they do, mostly local spots or internal presentations/videos for national corporations, but of course there is more than a few lame powerpoints or websites that land in my lap.

I am able to suffer through all of the mundane crap because starting this week I am finally being trained to use their flame*. Nothing formal through discreet or Autodesk or whoever owns it now, but by the in-house flame artist who has about 8 years of experience. The flame artist is going to be in China for three weeks later this month so I have to be up to speed by then to take over the workload. Needless to say my brain is about to explode, but I know most people would kill to be in this position, and this is the whole reason I took the internship in the first place.

I really enjoy both animating and compositing (I seem to be a rare breed) but unfortunetly I didn't recieve a very good education in those aspects. I am currently taking classes at animationmentor.com to really learn the art of animation, and I figure while I have the chance, why not learn the flame as well. My goal is to move to sunny L.A. and work in film (yes, everyone else says the same thing, but I am trying to take steps towards that goal) as either an animator or compositor, ideally in a position where I get to do both. I know that skill and attitude are far more important than knowing a particular software package but at the same time, the flame* is something that not everyone has access to, so I want to learn as much about it while I have the chance.