PDA

View Full Version : reusable rig


mstram
05-31-2005, 12:10 AM
How do use a rig with different geometry?

I'm starting real simple with just a bone deform on a sphere, 3 bones.
Went into animate to test, works fine.

I load another sphere, hide the first sphere, and slide the Skeleton item (parent) down onto the second sphere, but moving bones in animate has no effect on the second sphere.

Obviously there is more to it than that ... if it's even possible :)


Mike

vrkaya
05-31-2005, 02:51 AM
Been a while since I've done this, but I believe that - in Setup Mode - you will see that on the right hand side your Bone_Deform effect is applied to the first sphere. Select the Bone_Deform effect in the left hand panel, then CTRL select the second sphere. Click Add at the top - this should add the second sphere as a target of the Bone_Deform effect - e.g. objects it will deform.

To remove the first sphere from the Bone_Deform, select the first sphere on the right hand panel and click the Remove button at the top.

Hope I've remembered this correctly for you. Please advise if you still have problems.

Regards, Ron

chikega
05-31-2005, 02:55 AM
vrkaya,
good memory ... that's how it's done. :)

mstram
06-01-2005, 07:56 PM
Ron,

Thx, that did the trick :)

Mike

CGTalk Moderation
06-01-2005, 07:56 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.