PDA

View Full Version : is lw adequate for character animation or motionbuilder a big plus

thiaml
05-28-2005, 12:53 AM
hi there,

i'm a total novice when comes to character animation. can i ask does anyone with character animation experience feel that lw is still adequate to do character stuffs? i mean pretty simple stuffs (just personal project tests) or a program like motionbuilder is still light years ahead of lw. what do people who uses lw think of motionbuilder 6? is it still relevant for lw users?

the problem i'm having is mainly in the area of character rigging as i can't still do a good rig without arms popping in weird places. also i find that the nulls i created for ik, i find that it can be hard to pose a figure with them. it's probably my lack of experience, i think.

can i also ask is that a lw problem or you get that with other software as well.

T4D
05-28-2005, 04:10 AM
Lightwave is used for ALOT of character animation
It's got all the tools you need So your problem is Rigging not Animating in LW

Check out one of my demo rigs, Pull it apart and see how it works http://www.spinquad.com/forums/showthread.php?p=74940#post74940

OR Buy one of Jonny Gordons books

Check out some Lightwave rigging tutorials

Rigging is a job to learn in LW but it can be done

Just keep the Ik simple and flexable
Once you see how simple A good rig works
It'll help you understand what you need in your rigs

PixelInfected
05-28-2005, 05:53 PM
t4d is right, lw is ok for character animation, have all tools to do very fine work.
good work and happy animation

Larrikin
05-29-2005, 03:41 AM
I always animate in Motion Builder because it's incredibly fast and easy for character animation. It's a hassel importing and exporting between Lightwave and MB but you'll still save huge amounts of time. Try the Motion Builder demo and see for yourself.

thiaml
05-29-2005, 03:59 AM