PDA

View Full Version : Heip Me !!! Come In

hantaianniu
05-27-2005, 12:13 AM
i am a new guy to use Painter so i have some question that want you to help me
which color is the color fo human face ?????? and you can E-mail me hantianniu@126.com and my QQ 176881974

heythatreallyhurts
05-27-2005, 12:52 AM
I'm no expert in Painter, but this is something I think transcends format, so I'll speak from my experience with traditional media.

Generally, you will use several colors in painting a human face, and they will be different (slightly or greatly) each time you do it. It depends on more different factors than I can think to enumerate. The best advice you're going to get is this: paint what you see. Get reference that is suitable to the piece you're doing (preferably a live model, or just use your own face in a mirror), and really look at it before you even start painting. If you look really closely, you'll be able to identify very subtle tints and shades that you might not have thought were present. Also pay attention to whether the colors are warm or cool (shadows tend to be cool, for example, but this can vary depending on the look you want to achieve). Once you've got it right in your head, it'll come naturally when you start to paint, and it gets easier the more you do it. You'll also start to notice certain color schemes repeating themselves in nature, certain things you start to see over and over again with different subjects. After you've done it a lot, it'll be easier to use less reference, or to exaggerate your references.

That's the best advice I can give, but maybe someone else who is experienced with Painter can give you some shortcuts or something specific to the program. Me, I don't believe that shortcuts to things like understanding color exist; it's just something you have to work at and learn.

Lunatique
05-27-2005, 04:17 AM