PDA

View Full Version : Help Rigging low poly model for a sub-d Character:: Maya

KingMob
10-13-2002, 11:58 PM
Hey guys, I have a model I want to animate, but I am new to it and very frightened hehe.

What I want to do is rig a low Polygon model, which will animate the Sub-d Version of the same model...is this possible. I have read about binding to the Poly Proxy, but I seem to think there is a better way.

Any help would be VERY appreciated. Up untill this point I have modeled a few things, ut done very little with rigging/aniamtion.

thanks in advance

fortner
10-14-2002, 05:21 AM
i'm actually working on something like that right now, but i'm having particles run my Sub-D. I made my proxy mesh a soft body, then wrapped my Sub-D.

-dc-
10-14-2002, 05:38 AM
Well a very easy way to do this would be with visibility layers.
Make sure that you use the same skeleton to bind both the proxy and the subD models, then make a layer for each one's geo. Simply turn off the vis of the subD when animating, and then turn off the Poly Proxy and turn on the SubD for rendering.:thumbsup:

Regards,

Joe

KingMob
10-14-2002, 03:08 PM
sounds good to me...thats what I will do.

Does maya still have to calculate the geom for the sub d while I animate, or since it does not show will it be much faster?

fortner
10-14-2002, 03:33 PM
ya....tons faster. Either way you do it

io,
10-14-2002, 05:54 PM
or show poligonds/ show subdiv surfaces

KingMob
10-14-2002, 08:51 PM
it's sooo slow! just weighting this thing takes a few secodns to allow me to go again.

I have a decent machine, a 1.8 ghz with 512 ram and a 64 meg geforce 4...moving the skeleton is crazy slow to...what am I doing wrong?

I have the sub-d layer hidden on a seperate layer also.

please help me!! this is unbearable

-dc-
10-14-2002, 10:40 PM