PDA

View Full Version : creating glowing things

05-26-2005, 07:38 AM
Hi, I'm a newbie...
gotta question

How do you create glowing things is 3DS Max...
for example i want to create a laser, a very thick laser....
like the one you see in Independence War or any other sci-fi movie like star wars...

thx for any reply
sorry for my bac english

-Vormav-
05-26-2005, 07:48 AM
Look up the lens effect "glow" in the reference and tutorial guides(Max comes with a tutorial that covers this effect: Tutorials>Tutorials for film and broadcast professionals>Creating explosions. The first part of the tutorial, "animating the laser blast", is what you want). This would be the easiest way. The general idea is to use a spline that represents your laser beam. You would then give this spline a new object ID, apply the lens effect 'glow' and use this object ID for the glow. And there you have it.

If you wanted to get fancy with it, you could try setting something up with Mental Ray, using a combination of glow and glare shaders. But as you're a newbie, I wouldn't recommend getting into this.

sculpter21
05-26-2005, 08:00 PM
Their are a few light plugins are u using mr

05-27-2005, 02:40 AM
I haven't notice that tutorial....

thx...

vwman
05-28-2005, 05:49 PM
Create a Target Direct light with target. Then in modify panel of the light under the submenu: Intensity/Color/Attentuation. Set multiplier to 3 or higher for stronger laser if your background is light, if black background setting it to 3 will be good enough. Leave the color white.

In Directional Parameters submenu set falloff / field to 5.

If you don't see another submenu called: Atmospheres & Effects make sure you select the light in any of the views and go to modify panel again. Now you should see the menu.

In that menu click ADD.

Add Volume Light and click add. Now click on volume light in the list and click SELECT.

This should bring you to a new menu. Environment and Effects.