PDA

View Full Version : Tyan has a quad Opteron board in the works


bluemagicuk
05-20-2005, 06:02 PM
http://www.theinquirer.net/?article=12859

novadude
05-20-2005, 06:26 PM
dude, that was two years ago

November 2003, 09:44

bluemagicuk
05-20-2005, 06:29 PM
Dies in shame ... news to me, i didnt notive the date.
I have only just started looking into it ...

oh well ............. lol

alexyork
05-20-2005, 06:35 PM
this (http://www.tyan.com/products/html/thunderk8qsdpro.html), however, looks much much cooler :)
(http://www.tyan.com/products/html/thunderk8qsdpro.html)

novadude
05-20-2005, 06:45 PM
this (http://www.tyan.com/products/html/thunderk8qsdpro.html), however, looks much much cooler :)

You do realize that that Tyan board is just an update of the old one so they can get you to buy a new board to support dual core 8xx series Opterons, right?

alexyork
05-20-2005, 06:47 PM
You do realize that that Tyan board is just an update of the old one so they can get you to buy a new board to support dual core 8xx series Opterons, right?

and?

it just looks extremely cool... quad dual cores = 8 threads. what's not cool about that? apart from the price of course :)

bluemagicuk
05-21-2005, 11:33 AM
Can you buy a tyan board with one opteron procesor and then buy more processors and ram later ?
Any links that explain it it plain english apreciated. Im no techno wiz.
EDIT
Right 4 hours later .. anyone know of a better deal that this site ????
http://www.monarchcomputer.com/Merchant2/merchant.mv?Screen=PROD&Store_Code=M&Product_Code=80233&Category_Code=AMDBarebones

dual opteron 250 x 2
tyan k8we

CGTalk Moderation
05-21-2005, 11:33 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.