PDA

View Full Version : Skin tones and colour blindness

erilaz
05-18-2005, 05:09 AM
Skin tones are probably the most misunderstood area of rendering (both 3d and 2d), as a lot of the colour and tone has to do with the fall of light, the closeness of the veins and bone to the surface and various other factors. Most beginners and intermediates don't seem to get skin right when painting (too white/pink/brown), and I include myself in that area. My main issue falls into the area of just not being able to get the colour right.
I'm red-green colourblind, and areas of skin are difficult for me to paint. I understand the theory behind it, but I never seem to see the colour correctly. I fully understand that I'm only a beginner to painting (more of a 3d background) and this sort of knowledge comes with time, experience and observation, but I feel my observation is flawed due to my condition.

Is there a good base colour to start from? Light obviously changes the colour completely, as does shininess, and the other areas I covered above. The one I most commonly think of is the base skin tone that Enayla uses in her eye tute, but I know this isn't necessarily the ideal.

Should I just keep painting/sketching and slowly adjust my colour vision to "see" the right colour at a sort of offset of what my actual vision sees?

My current stance is that I'm still learning the ropes and my vision won't effect the overall form of what I'm creating, I just wanted to hear opinions. :)

Ego
05-18-2005, 07:15 AM
I was about to make a post about this same topic.