PDA

View Full Version : Printing Issue

Madison
05-17-2005, 02:40 PM
Dear all,

I purchased about 5 books from Ballistic, they are amazingly good. ^_^ I'm a designer, and I'm planning to print some personal work out for my portfolio, the question is, how can I print the same quality as Ballistic's book?

Is there any tips or suggestion you can give me? I asked my local print shop and they would do it only if I print at least 500 copies. It will cost me a bomb and I don't need that many copies.

Any advise would be great.

Best regards,
Madison

Schwinnz
05-17-2005, 05:54 PM
There are a lot of places that do high quality laser printing. The big advantage is that you can make limited series. Render your stuff at 300 dpi or more (450, 600, 800, ++) and simply have it printed.

c-g
05-17-2005, 06:21 PM
First thing is don't go to a print shop that only print large runs of books. We do some large single prints here. I don't even know if you would even get a discount if you printed more. Look for a place like that.

**This isn't an advertisement**

What size prints are you looking at?
What are you looking to do with them? (mounting?)
What did you want it printed on?

eparts
05-17-2005, 07:18 PM
interresting thread.
would love to know more about this. I believe it goes for the same with printing posters.

c-g
05-17-2005, 07:49 PM
Anything I post here isn't specific to us...you can get this kind of stuff at other places.

We've done posters. :) We can print to a pretty wide variety of materials. Posters are usually done to photo paper. Most prints we do are printed on vinyl because it is more durable than paper and it is adhesive backed.

Ask the printer what kind of inks they use. Some inks don't hold up as well as others to different conditions.

Laminates will protect your print. If you are going to have anything that isn't sealed in a portfolio sleeve you might want to laminate it. There are a variety of those too.