PDA

View Full Version : is there a place for a movie editor in video games?

Fazer greg
05-15-2005, 03:48 PM
Hi! my name is Fazer greg and I'm a student to become editor at the I.A.D (Institut des Arts de Diffusions) in Belgium. This is my last year of study and as every body in that case I have to writte my "mémoire"! in english I think it is my end of study piece. Anyway, my subject is linked to movies, but also to video games,because it's a passion for many years, and I'm trying to know if in the video games there's somone like an editor who edit the cinematic scenes? and if it's not a movie's editor, who's in charge of that? and how does he/she proceeds?

I've already tried to contact some companies as ubisoft and Eden games without success.
Any idea or opinion will be received with gratitude,

Thanks for replying as soon as you can.

igorsandman
05-17-2005, 08:31 AM
Hello,

Given the overall poor quality of VG cinematics as it comes to film directing, I pretty much doubt there is an editor involved. There even rarely is a director involved. It's rather one of the CG team member who is in charge, but not an actual film director or editor. But then again, I don't have any experience in that area. I'm only guessing.
I would suggest you try to contact one of the employees at ubisoft. Some of them are members here like Pascal Blanché, Sparth or Raphaël Lacoste. They might give you some valuable pieces of information.
Good luck with your thesis.

A bientôt.
-IS-

spirogyro
05-19-2005, 06:22 AM
Hello Fazer,