PDA

View Full Version : - Maya2LW?


CIM
10-09-2002, 04:01 AM
Does this script even work? Has anyone had success? I export the animation and load in in LW, which works fine, but when I try to switch to the original model, I get errors or bad deformation (yes, I set the order to Last). Also, the object doesn't retain surface info, uv coords., and the name of the object, so I have to use the original .lwo.

Is there a better method out there for getting Maya to LW? Nothing I've found works well enough.

proton
10-09-2002, 04:48 AM
You might try posting this to teh LW mailing list....I know some of them work in both and toggle back and forth....

CIM
10-09-2002, 04:52 AM
LW mailing list?

proton
10-09-2002, 05:14 AM
http://groups.yahoo.com/search?query=lightwave

shulmanator
10-09-2002, 06:35 AM
I don't know either. I can't figure out why when I tell it to export, it's not creating a ".lws" that I can find. Any idea why I haven't been able to even get this far?

CIM
10-09-2002, 07:01 AM
The .lws is exported to the Export Maya directory. You can load manually too--just apply the plugins to the object, lights, and/or camera.

shulmanator
10-09-2002, 07:19 AM
I'm not sure where this 'Export Maya' directory is. I'm kind of making a mess in the process of experimenting with getting this plugin to export an animated polygon sphere into a lws. I did a Windows Search of my hard drive, and it didn't find any recent lws files. I noticed it gave me an error message in the script editor in maya. I think I'm missing an OBJ exporting plugin, and I have no idea where to find it. :shrug:

CIM
10-09-2002, 07:36 AM
Read the instruction on the site you got it from.

MrWyatt
10-09-2002, 08:44 AM
maybe the beaver project or polytrans is the answer to your question

CGTalk Moderation
01-13-2006, 07:00 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.