PDA

View Full Version : LightWave [8] v8.3 Now Available!


Kurtis
05-09-2005, 04:00 PM
NewTek is pleased to announce that the fourth free update for registered owners of LightWave [8], v8.3, is now available for download. Highlights of this free update include:



Multi-Core Processor Support
PSD Import/Export Revisions
New "Text Layers" Tool
Improved Vector Blur Routines
New "Relative Particle Age" Gradient Option for HyperVoxels
New "Blending" Surface-Tension Control for HyperVoxels
EPS Import/Export Revisions
Enhanced Documentation for LightWave's Object Properties Edge Tab Functions
11 SDK Changes
150+ bug fixes
For more information, please visit:
http://www.newtek.com/products/lightwave/downloads/updates/lw83

Sequent
05-09-2005, 04:03 PM
Very cool. THANK YOU!!!

GCL
05-09-2005, 04:17 PM
Great to hear BUT not on their servers, yet. Only shows 8.21.

Exper
05-09-2005, 04:37 PM
Let the dice roll... untill it reaches Europe.

Just a strange thing: 8.0.1 upgrade is still available but not the 8.2.1 one (we have them all... at least). ;)

kurv
05-09-2005, 04:43 PM
As always Kurtis is the bearer of great news!

Thanks!

Kurtis
05-09-2005, 05:08 PM
I apologize to anyone that may have tried to download already, and either didn't find the files or downloaded small test files. There was a snafu with our file servers, but all is fixed now, and you should be able to access the files.

policarpo
05-09-2005, 05:40 PM
Ok, this might be a dumb question...but when I select the .PSD exporter via the Effects>Processing>.PSD Exporter it looks nothing like the screen shots in the 8.3 Addendum document...

Is it located someplace else...I didn't see a Final Render option anywhere.

http://www.policarpo.us/samples/PSD.jpg

OSX 10.3.9 for what it is worth. Thanks.

lorigosolo
05-09-2005, 05:51 PM
Great news! :bounce:

Thanks! :thumbsup:

Gene Williams
05-09-2005, 05:52 PM
Perhaps I am totally retarded, but the 8.3 file update doesn't appear in the
download section of LW8 or in the link provided by Kurtis. Anybody else
have any success downloading? Thanks.

Gene

policarpo
05-09-2005, 05:54 PM
Perhaps I am totally retarded, but the 8.3 file update doesn't appear in the
download section of LW8 or in the link provided by Kurtis. Anybody else
have any success downloading? Thanks.

Gene


It's there. Just downloaded it 10 minutes ago. Did you log in and click on the Download link just below the Registration Drop Down? Maybe it's been pulled cause the OSX version wasn't compiled properly as you can see in the .PSD export screen I posted above.

Dunno...

Cheers.

retinajoy
05-09-2005, 05:55 PM
Policarpo,

I've installed the 8.3 update and I get the new version okay as shown in the Addendum. I'm on Windows though. Maybe something went wrong with the installation and not all the new stuff got copied over?

policarpo
05-09-2005, 06:01 PM
note:
Something must be wrong with the OSX compile of 8.3, cause the .PSD exporter is exactly as it was before...no worky...can anyone else running OSX and LW confirm this...or am I just missing something (I presume that the .PSD exporter is located in the Effects>Processing drop down...isn't it?)

Thanks.

factorblank
05-09-2005, 06:06 PM
Ok, this might be a dumb question...but when I select the .PSD exporter via the Effects>Processing>.PSD Exporter it looks nothing like the screen shots in the 8.3 Addendum document...

Is it located someplace else...I didn't see a Final Render option anywhere.



OSX 10.3.9 for what it is worth. Thanks.

Hi Policarpo!

I double-checked and the PSD Exporter in the 8.3 software against the addendum and they do match. If you are getting the old PSD Export panel, try deleting the preference files located here:

Default locations for Mac configuration files "LightWave Layout
8 Prefs", "LightWave Modeler 8 Prefs", "LightWave Extensions 8
Prefs", "LightWave Hub 8 Prefs":
OS X: <yourdrive>/users/<username>/Library/Preferences

You will need to run the Scan Directory procedure to load the correct plugins again.

[edit: I thought I would add that I checked this on both Mac and PC platforms.]

Marvin Miller
3D Technical Writer

policarpo
05-09-2005, 06:08 PM
Here's the info on the two .PSD plugins in my LW8.3 plugins folder for what it's worth:

http://www.policarpo.us/samples/info.jpg

policarpo
05-09-2005, 06:10 PM
Thanks Factorblank. I'll try that. Cheers.

Solace9
05-09-2005, 06:27 PM
I'm not able download to check the manual yet, but I was currious whether anyone has noticed what the improvements in the vector blur are exactly... ?

Can't wait to get home, DL and have fun... but all after finals, haha.
Thanks Newtek team!

-Micah :thumbsup:

Gene Williams
05-09-2005, 06:30 PM
Thanks but no luck. Logged in and under the downloads no update to
8.3 now, must have pulled it due to technical difficulties no doubt.

Gene

uncommongrafx
05-09-2005, 06:38 PM
Still there, Gene.

Patience.

Of course, I already got it. ;)

Cman
05-09-2005, 06:46 PM
I also tried to dl it, and I get an Alert error "document contains no data."

They definitely must've pulled it.

Gene Williams
05-09-2005, 06:52 PM
It's back...just downloaded.

Gene

Netvudu
05-09-2005, 07:16 PM
http://www.policarpo.us/samples/info.jpg



polimorpheus? oh my... :D

Para
05-09-2005, 07:26 PM
I'm not able download to check the manual yet, but I was currious whether anyone has noticed what the improvements in the vector blur are exactly...

How would this sound as an answer: It actually works! (as long as the motion isn't superfast)

Cman
05-09-2005, 07:28 PM
It's back...just downloaded.

Gene

now I get a server error!

edit -
When I tried it with IE instead of Firefox it worked.

angel
05-09-2005, 08:34 PM
Cman, I just downloaded it with firefox... no problems. Try again.

Cman
05-09-2005, 09:20 PM
Cman, I just downloaded it with firefox... no problems. Try again.

Thanks for the reply. I've got it now. S'alls good.

richcz3
05-09-2005, 09:33 PM
I'm at 46% with Firefox.
There should be a big Download button. I tried the same 2 links before scrolling to the very bottom of the page. But its trickling down the lines now.

allaboutkeys
05-09-2005, 09:37 PM
I can't find the new "Text Layers" tool. :argh:

Bytehawk
05-09-2005, 09:43 PM
I can't find the new "Text Layers" tool. :argh:

it's prolly under the additional plugins.

thx1138
05-09-2005, 10:07 PM
Always good to have a new LW version.
Good work NT :thumbsup:

Para
05-09-2005, 10:20 PM
it's under the additional plugins. They didn't update the default configs to reflect new tools.

Oh fiddlesticks, that explains why I couldn't locate it either. My Additional menu is currently b0rked and doesn't update its content at all...time for reinstall I think.

Bytehawk
05-09-2005, 10:36 PM
psd exporter rulez !!!

wwade
05-10-2005, 01:48 AM
Text layers thingy is in the Lscripts folder.


I had to trash the old configs and now it shows as it should.

Solace9
05-10-2005, 05:49 AM
Para: to quote a certain green guy "that'll do... that'll do...". :D
-Micah

policarpo
05-10-2005, 06:26 AM
psd exporter rulez !!!

It seems to work, but there are still some workflow enhancements it could use in order to be streamlined (the TABS make it very confusing to use, especially when you have Layers in PS which aren't named in the Exporter (there is no DIFFUSE LIGHTING check box anywhere in those Tabs, but it magically appears in the layers in PS)).

some observations from my perch. :)

Diffuse Shading looks like it gives you your GI pass, however, the Lights emitting Shadows aren't excluded from this pass (it would be a nice feature to update in a future release).

I wasn't able to turn off my shadows in the Blue Ninja Scene that ships with LW8 Content (so you might want to look into this some more...pulling shadows is important in compositing for animation and print ya know).

Somthing simple like this would be nice to get exported and usable:
The Classic Ball. :) (http://www.policarpo.us/samples/ball_test.zip)


http://www.policarpo.us/samples/ball.gif


EDITED BY SHADE01: Do not discuss ways to circumvent software security through bugs.

Cheers.

webshot
05-10-2005, 07:27 AM
PSD export looks great. I thinkit may be time for me to upgrade from 7.5. I wonder if I purchased the regular version (not education license). Can I get the upgrade for the educational price (was not in Uni when I made the initial purchase of LW7).

Kruvi
05-10-2005, 12:23 PM
Lovely, another great addition, looking forward to testing the PSD exporter and having some fun with it.

Keep up the great work newtek guys :thumbsup:

CB_3D
05-10-2005, 05:16 PM
EDITED BY SHADE01: Do not discuss ways to circumvent software security through bugs.

LOL,thatīs funny!

Julez4001
05-10-2005, 10:19 PM
Any other bugs or snafus to report beside the shadow showingup in unintended channels int he psd exporter?

Signal2Noise
05-11-2005, 02:49 PM
The 8.3_Addendum PDF document shows the Text Layers GUI as "Text Layers v1.1.0" but the tool in Modeler comes up as simply "Text Layers". Is this correct?

Also, I can only access Text Layers via the Create|Text menu. It does not appear in Utilities|Plugins|Additional menu as others have mentioned.

:shrug:

Gene Williams
05-11-2005, 03:49 PM
Shows up as Text Layers here.
I had to run the scan directory as suggested below:

If Text Layers does not show up in your Utilities>Plugins>Additional Menu,
you might need to run Scan Directory in the Edit Plugins menu.

Gene

Grub
05-11-2005, 08:26 PM
Fab, another update.:thumbsup:

Samurai Hack
05-14-2005, 04:59 AM
So am I the only one still having problems downloading 8.3 with Firefox?? It keeps telling me "550 Failed to change directory" whatever that means. I got the Manual addendum no problem. Can't seem to get the update though...

webshot
05-14-2005, 05:31 AM
Curiosity question: If I upgrade to 8.3 from 7.5, do I have to install 8.0 then 8.02......then 8.3? I had a bunch of issues getting 7.5 to work properly, I would hate to have the same issues with 2-3 versions.

Freak
05-14-2005, 05:34 AM
Does anyone know if the Volumetrics and FOG options were included in the SDK
enhancements, as promised in the 8.3 Press Release ?

I can't seem to find anything like that mentioned now..

Karmacop
05-14-2005, 06:19 AM
So am I the only one still having problems downloading 8.3 with Firefox?? It keeps telling me "550 Failed to change directory" whatever that means. I got the Manual addendum no problem. Can't seem to get the update though...

I got it fine with firefox. I get a warning about it logging on when it doesn't need to but I tell it it can. Maybe if you tell it you can't then you get that error?

Signal2Noise
05-14-2005, 06:30 AM
Curiosity question: If I upgrade to 8.3 from 7.5, do I have to install 8.0 then 8.02......then 8.3?...

No. 8.3 includes the previous updates.

biliousfrog
05-14-2005, 08:37 AM
I've just noticed that when saving images from the F9 preview window that it doesn't save the extensions.......a little annoying when you can't see your output in Photoshop untill you've added .tif to the end of several images. Haven't had a chance to check F10 renders yet but I'd be well p****d if I did an image sequence & then needed to add extensions to them all.

mav3rick
05-14-2005, 09:14 AM
billi

well it actually works fine. This kind of things happened to me back on 7.x days. Reson is broken exporters. try redo your config file . readd all plugins. should fix problem.

Samurai Hack
05-14-2005, 10:13 PM
I got it fine with firefox. I get a warning about it logging on when it doesn't need to but I tell it it can. Maybe if you tell it you can't then you get that error?

Maybe it's my firewall settings or something. Firefox gives me an ftp error about changing directories and IE tells me it cannot find the server.... going to try shutting down the firewall but I find it hard to imagine I'm the only one with this problem.... hmmm wonder what that says about me....

Aooogah
05-14-2005, 10:40 PM
Beachedsapper:

I too am having the same problem. Perhaps it is a firewall problem.

lwbscenic
05-16-2005, 01:36 AM
Thanks for the posting. I have been getting an error screen all weekend..Cannot find server..when trying to download the update.

Cheers
LB

tais
05-16-2005, 07:44 AM
Does anyone know if the Volumetrics and FOG options were included in the SDK
enhancements, as promised in the 8.3 Press Release ?

I can't seem to find anything like that mentioned now..

not really.
we have to wait the next update to see sdk opened for dev.

tais
05-16-2005, 07:48 AM
err,
... future update, not next update...
not the same...

CGTalk Moderation
05-16-2005, 07:48 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.