PDA

View Full Version : scripting....

stallion151
05-08-2005, 11:10 AM
hey people,

I am trying to automate the process for tileable textures, I want to remove obvious patterns in images but need to tile them to see it better.
What i mean is, I want to have a 256x256 texture, and make photoshop create a new larger document and fill this with the previous pattern but tiled 4x4 or whatever. and maybe have it update when i change the original.

When i created the action, i select the first document and define pattern, then create a 1024x1024 and fill the canvas with this new pattern, but the action creates a pattern ID for every pattern and it won't override it, so everytime i run this action the document fills with another pattern....not the one i want, i even rename and delete the previous pattern but it doesn't work.

What i need is a script to create a temp pattern and override itself everytime i run the script. i don't think this is difficult, but i am not a programmer type person and i can't devote the time to learn a programming language for just this one thing, but hopefully someone here is kind enough to steer me the right way....or make one for me ;)

stallion151
05-15-2005, 11:15 PM
bump.

meep.

Skjoldbroder
05-16-2005, 08:36 AM
I do this sometimes, but I'm not sure you can get Photoshop to do exactly what you want. You can specify which pattern you want an action to delete, but from what I just tried, you don't seem to be able to specify which one you want to fill with.

You could map it on a plane in your 3d app, tile it four times and look at that instead?

berniebernie
05-16-2005, 11:15 AM
It's well easy to obtain a new document filled with the pattern, but not using patterns (which are a bit dodgy to use because of unique IDs).

Let me tell you how i would do it, and then let me go home and check if it could work using patterns, and post back tomorrow.

I would just open the 256x256, select all, and then paste it into a new document 4 times.