PDA

View Full Version : How to get hired in LA

CineJay
05-04-2005, 12:59 AM
I'm a Junior Shake Compositor looking for work in the LA area, and would like to hear advice from others who have already gone through this process. I have a couple of years of compositing experience under my belt, working on smaller projects and one independent feature film. There are no giant explosions or 3D creatures on my reel, but I think given my limited resources, it makes a good impression:

http://home.earthlink.net/~jaymajer/

Any advice at all is appreciated!

Jay

Six60Sicks
05-05-2005, 02:22 PM
Sorry I dont have any advice for you as I am in the same boat as you. I did want to comment on your demo reel, it looks great. The only thing I didnt care for was the lava shot witht the missles coming down. Its not a bad composit, just overall doesn't seem to fit the quality of the rest of the reel. The shot with the eyeball in the hand is great! I also really liked the girl in the woods with the blue birds(or whatever) are flying out of the ground behind her. Overall the reel is good, I would like to know if it is good enough to get a job. Let us know how it goes.

paul k.
05-05-2005, 05:27 PM
I agree I thought it was strong. I'm an animator not a compositor but I do agree with Six60Sicks in that you need to get rid of the Lava shot it's not nearly as good as the rest of your reel.

Also the rule when we look at reels in the studios I have been employed at and when making my own is to put your BEST WORK FIRST! This is crucial I think if you slid the lava action to the back and left everything else as is you would have a much better chance at employment.

Where did you get your couple of years of experience?

CineJay
05-06-2005, 06:01 PM
Thanks for the replies. I'll see about replacing that lava shot. Is there something specific in the shot that bothers you?