PDA

View Full Version : What grabs your attention in a drawing or painting?

Gord-MacDonald
04-29-2005, 04:56 PM
Why is it that some images take off like wildfire - get everyones attention, while others fall off of the radar and into oblivion?
I have seen may well executed images that just don't get the "press time" that it seems they deserve.
What are the things that grab you:
content (what type),
colour (any particular type of colour handling),
drawing style,
composition.
etc...

What background do you have in visual arts, and how (if at all) does that effect what artworks you like to look at. I am not thinking of the famous art you like, but the works you might - for example - find posted here on CGTalk?

Gord

JA-forreal
04-29-2005, 08:52 PM
I started out drawing visual stories as a kid. Some of my work ended up in the back of books and what not, hehehe. Then I had my goals later set on being an urban craft artist building functional art. Now I'm a 3d designer and web developer. I learned a lot along as progressed to the point that I'm at now.

Art has to motivate us visually to be attractive. Is an artwork inviting us to look at it with some bold use of colors or topic that is alluring? Does an artwork tell us to use a product, visit a vacation spot or dance all hight at a rave event. If does not work like this it will almost be invisible amid all of the other distractions that are attracting our eyes.

You can draw a painting of the most beautiful tropical flowers on earth to attract viewers to their beauty. Then you place this same painting beside and image of a beautiful profile of an exotic womans face on top of a lush dark green jungle background environment. Add the flowers from the first image to accent her hair. The lighter colored flowers are placed on top of the womans head to attract the viewer to their beauty.