PDA

View Full Version : Which Wacom Tablet to Purchase?

Blithe
04-29-2005, 02:31 PM
Ok, First of all, I'm new to the site. Now, with that out of the way, on to my question. I'm currently a student, but I have a great interest in art. I've been drawing since I was a toddler, and although I have no formal training I have done some pieces on commision for various people and websites. I'm looking into pursuing art as a career, and I would like to break into digital art as currently I'm a pencil and paper or paint and canvas guy. So I was wondering which Wacom tablet would be the best for me to purchase. I really don't want to spend a ton of money on one, but I want the best quality for my money. Thanks for the feedback, and I'm very glad I found this exceptional site.

~Blithe

_slvl
04-29-2005, 05:57 PM
If you just want a starters tablet, the graphire series would do. The graphire3 is from 100/$100 and up.

If you want cheaper (below $50) you could buy a Volito. This is the entry level tablet. It has it's limitations though.

If you're in Europe (edit: which you're obviously not, couldn't read your profile while typing the message :banghead: ) you could buy a refurbished Graphire 2 for about 50, like I did. You will get full warranty (2 years) plus all the software.
(The US site has currently only one refurbished tablet, I just keep this paragraph for other people)

That's the money bit, now the experience:

As I mentioned I got the Graphire 2. For a beginner I reckon it has enough response and abilities. I get very decent pressure response from the pen. Of course it hasn't all the options of the intuos series.

Mind though I am currently a beginner in digital painting, so I haven't been able to really stress test it due to lack of ability :) (I'm making progress though)

Marc-OlivierBouchard
04-29-2005, 07:36 PM
Good to see new members.

One thing you will get told often on this site is
USE THE SEARCH BUTTON.