PDA

View Full Version : A Complete Beginner

Jukebox
04-29-2005, 01:26 AM
What would you recommend to a guy who never wrote a script before and have absolutely no idea about camera techniques?

well i've always been interested in taking parts in multimedia industry but had no idea where to begin. after all that wandering around for last couple of years, i am finally a college student studying multimedia. but after finishing that, i don't know what comes next.

it'd be really really cool, if you could give some pointers to me.......

thanks in advance..........

Matty2Phatty
04-29-2005, 02:37 AM
I don't know if this really applies to everybody, but for me, going to the movies is like film school, i go and i enjoy them, i take note of what works and what doesn't, i question the directors decisions, i wonder why they used a particular shot, all kinds of stuff.

I've seen enough movies by now that when i have a script in front of me i can watch the movie in my head. Half the time i'm not actively thinking about the best angles, but just watching the movie in my mind and then going out and actually shooting it. I'm probably not making any sense, i just can't think of a better way to describe what i'm talking about.

But essentially you should be able to learn a lot of what you need to know by watching films. I mean maybe you don't know much about lighting, but you can probably look at how stuff is lit in films and try to copy it... or you could note how characters are framed in each shot and copy that.

There's a lot of technical stuff to do with shooting on film and professional lighting and sound, but i'm assuming you're talking about shooting DV (i could be wrong) in which case there's really not that much to worry about, except for your angles.

I realise people are probably gonna quote that last bit about not having much to worry about, but all i mean by that is that you don't need to worry about knowing what film stock to use and stuff like that.