PDA

View Full Version : First digital painting - portrait (in progress!)

MastahUK
04-28-2005, 02:00 AM
Hi, I'm an 18 year old student studying computer science, but I hope to progress to the more artistic side of computing when I go to university next year, either 2D or 3D. I've never taken any art lessons, and I've only recently started doodling while at work in a call centre - so I'd really appreciate any advice to improve on my work as I have no idea what I'm doing really.

The following picture is a sketch I've been working on for a little while based on a reference photo of a friend of mine. I guess it probably took me about 6 hours on and off - but I can't maintain a very fast pace while at work!

http://www.retina-designs.com/img/duang_original_small.JPG

After producing this sketch, I felt inspired to delve into the world of digital art - something I'd never even considered before. So 2 days ago I went and bought myself a new Wacom Graphire3 tablet and have been experimenting in Painter since then. Here is the result of about an hours work colouring the previous sketch:

http://www.retina-designs.com/img/duang_oils_small.JPG

As I know nothing about working in Painter, I've decided simply to paint everything onto a single layer mainly using the oils brushes. I found this to work best for me after having already experimented with using watercolours instead. It would be great to hear the best way to go about producing this kind of image from people who actually know what they're talking about. Also any general feedback on what I've got so far would be greatly appreciated! :D

FryGuy982
04-28-2005, 07:23 AM
Considering you spent six hours on the drawing I think it would be an understatement to call it a sketch, but ranting aside it looks pretty good so far. You've already created the illusion of depth. I can't wait till you start on the eyes :D

PSD
04-28-2005, 05:16 PM