PDA

View Full Version : Final Year Project - Armageddon Parody

yadur
04-27-2005, 10:50 AM
This is my final year project. I'm studying Computer Animation and Special Effects at the University of Bradford. The goal of the project was to create a nice entertaining Animation. I hope I succeded. Here's the piece, now tear it apart:

The Project (http://www.its-the-end-of-the-world.com/) (35 MB)

http://images.stadlberger.com/cgtalk/poster.jpg

Edit: Updated Link

Swizzle
04-27-2005, 07:57 PM
Wow, the UK really bit the big one. :p

I'd say it's entertaining enough, but there are some weird things that, if you changed them, could really make this video that little bit better.

The first thing I noticed was the animation of the rose, because, well, it's the first thing I see! Right now it looks like a bunch of ants are carrying it back to the colony or something and that's why it's shaking funny. You might try having the stem bend in the direction the wind is blowing and then have it hold there for just a couple of frames, only moving slightly. After that you could have it slowly gain speed as it comes back up and give it some rebound.
The next thing I noticed was the depth of field. It looks screwy because nothing except part of the sidewalk and a bit of the wall comes into focus while the camera moves, so maybe you could tone it down slightly.
The newspaper's motion looks very good for a while, but then it seemed like it was just hovering along instead of being blown by the wind. Maybe you could add a tumble and slight crumple in there?
The smoke coming from the boosters looks ok, but it seems like it doesn't get any darker after a while. It seems luminous, and that looks a bit weird with the long shots.