PDA

View Full Version : Houdini question

rakmaya
04-27-2005, 01:54 AM
Recently, I was spending some time in modeling in Maya. I work as a game programmer and one of my artist told me about the houdini and I have been looking into the modeling tutorials and as far I like its approach. I was wondering how good it is for modeling organic (Patch modeling)?

jiversen
04-28-2005, 06:28 AM
Hey there,

I'm not a modeler but Houdini allows some incredibly powerful procedural manipulation of modeled geometry.

You might get a better response to modeling questions if you post on http://odforce.net/forum since there are more people over there who do model with Houdini, but I can say there are a few areas of interest to an organic modeler.

The EditSOP: can do procedural deformations with soft radius falloff.
The SculptSOP: artisan-like painting of displacements - see PaintSOP and CombSOP for similar capabilities for attributes and Normals.
UV Tools: UVPeltSOP for applying UVs to organic shapes and the UVBrushSOP for interactive brushing of UV spaces.

Poly meshes can be rendered as Subdivision Surfaces (for quads, optimally -but handles all polygons) .

Houdini's support for interactive NURBs modeling isn't as developed as the Polygon modeling.

This along with the regular host of tools - like Extrudes, Splits, Knitting, Lofting - makes pretty powerful suite of modeling tools. Edge-loops selection, Lasso, Marquee, Paint selections are all available - with more to come in Houdini 8.

But ask on odforce for a serious modeler to answer...

Hope this helps a bit,
Jason

rakmaya
04-28-2005, 07:08 AM