PDA

View Full Version : Ram preview - dual procs


Colincsl
04-25-2005, 10:39 PM
I am getting an AMD 64 X2 when it comes out in June. I pressume so, but does this speed up RAM previews as well as normal renders? Also, would it be better to get 2 gb of generic ram or 1 gb or possibly 1.5gb of low latency ram?

Mylenium
04-26-2005, 08:58 AM
Nope, multicore/ multiproc systems won't necessarily accelerate rendering or RAM preview. If a effect or function is not coded to make use of that, you won't see any benefit. Always get as much RAM as you can get - it doesn't matter how fast, just how much. Faster RAM won't do anything - a frame is still a frame that occupies a certain amount of RAM. Only more RAM will allow you to preview more frames.

Mylenium

Shinjipierre
04-26-2005, 10:14 AM
Nope, multicore/ multiproc systems won't necessarily accelerate rendering or RAM preview.

You have to install an other renderer... X-factor something, it's on the after effects 6.5 bundle, it'll use all your processors

CGTalk Moderation
04-26-2005, 10:14 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.