PDA

View Full Version : ArchViz-Tools/Plugins/Tips


Continuumx
04-23-2005, 04:46 AM
This thread is for useful tips/plugins/techniques for using Cinema4D in Architecture Visualization.


I will start it off, with a useful tip for placing columns and beams.

I use Core Arsenal's Jenna v2.22 plugin, particularly the Iterator to dynamically set up a line of beams and or columns.

1: You basically set up a spline h-type shape- adjust the measurements to make your wide flange beam/column. Position the axis precisely by turning on snapping and moving just the spline axis to an exact point on another piece of geometry. Then place this spline under Iterator and make sure all other options under variations are either zero or off.

2: Change the x/y/z translation to 24 inches or metric equivalent (you need to have some information on the spacing of the beams/columns) and adjust the xyz translation along with count to get the number of beams or columns needed and exact spacing.

It is very easy and much quicker than what I have explained. Very good for ArchViz model building!

Currently you can get this plugin via 3D world magazine - March 2005 issue:

Get a copy from bookstore in your area or http://www.computerarts.co.uk/3dworld (http://www.computerarts.co.uk/3dworld)

Continuumx
04-23-2005, 04:34 PM
A good use of null axis' can help in the accurate positioning of objects in an ArchViz scene.

1 - The idea is to create a new null object from within Cinema 4D object menu.

2 - turn on snapping - control 'p' brings up snap menu. Turn on snap to points, and use '3D snapping.'

3 - The idea is use the snap feature to exactly move the null to the object you want to position (columns/beams/buildings). Move the null object to an corner point at the base or some other easily identifiable point reference that makes sense to you.

4 - Now place your object under this null object.

5 - You can now move the null object (with your archviz object under it) and snap it accurately to some other area of your scene whereever you may need it!

This is very quick and powerful when used in conjuction with your scale (US feet or inches or Metric) can go a long way to making Cinema 4D great for Archviz scenes!

Newstream
04-23-2005, 05:36 PM
Donít know about you guys but in my experience arch-viz scenes tend to contain a long list of bits and pieces in the OM.

In my book, if there are two ďcanít live withoutĒ plugins that make life easier when managing these types of scenes. They are: Find and Replace and Aligner.

I also donít mean this post to sound like some kind of commercial but frankly, these two gems have saved me an obscene amount of time and grey hair.


Cheers / Alex

Continuumx
04-24-2005, 02:13 AM
Donít know about you guys but in my experience arch-viz scenes tend to contain a long list of bits and pieces in the OM.

In my book, if there are two ďcanít live withoutĒ plugins that make life easier when managing these types of scenes. They are: Find and Replace and Aligner.

I also donít mean this post to sound like some kind of commercial but frankly, these two gems have saved me an obscene amount of time and grey hair.


Cheers / Alex

These are two I had not heard of.

You know what I do to manage tons of duplicate objects for ArchViz? I make use of the built in search for object in hierarchy. Basically I select visually what I want, then hit this button (I placed the icon on the top row of icons in my modeling layout)- then viola, there it is in the hierarchy list.

I also give beams a group designation, like S1-24"-h which is building S1, 24" depth, and 'h' for horizontal which means beam. I also use 'v' for vertical which means column.

Newstream
04-24-2005, 02:58 PM
Not only can you search, find and keep track of all the objects with Find & Replace but you can even rename hundreds of objects (and materials) both quickly and efficiently at the same time with just a few mouse-clicks.


http://photos7.flickr.com/10655920_3b656fd1fd_o.jpg


In the following example (a two storey underground parking complex) F&R was used to first name all the concrete pillars instances and then to give each pillar instance its own unique number suffix. Just imagine for a minute doing this by renaming each of the 468 pillars in this scene manually.:eek:


http://photos6.flickr.com/10655648_ab111a9df8_o.jpg


The Aligner plugin was then uses to first align all the pillars in straight lines and then to distribute these evenly so that the space between each pillar was identical. This was done by simply placing the left - and rightmost pillars in their correct locations. The ten something pillars in between were all taken care of by Aligner. Again, doing this manually is indeed possible but can take hours especially if you have several hundred (if not thousands) of construction beams or pillars to deal with. Why do it the hard way when Aligner can do it less than a second? :thumbsup:

Beleive me, If your'e into Arch-viz, you wont regret having these tools in your arsenal. Worth every penny. Info and Purchase details at: http://www.ruimac.com/plugins.htm (http://www.ruimac.com/plugins.htm)

Cheers // Alex

http://photos5.flickr.com/10662986_792ffa73b6_o.jpg

Continuumx
04-24-2005, 05:39 PM
This looks great Badtastic! I will definitely put these on my plugin list to get! Thanks for the illustration it really shows how they can be used in application.

Does the 'find and replace' then basically take a group of similarly named objects and automatically give them a name with suffix that like -1, -2, -3 and so on?

Newstream
04-25-2005, 01:43 AM
Does the 'find and replace' then basically take a group of similarly named objects and automatically give them a name with suffix that like -1, -2, -3 and so on?
Yes.
It's simply a question of first selecting the objects or object groups in question and then telling F&A what to do with your selection. If you cant find the bits you want to rename or number, just hit the "Names" tab and perform a search using the various search criterias / wildcards etc. and F&R will select and highlight whatever you searched for. Once highlighted flip back to the Replace - Delete or Add tabs for further organizing / renaming etc.
Examples:

- You can Delete letters either in the beggining or end of an object name.
- Add either prefix or suffix - numbers or characters...
- Show / Hide Invert and more........

Check out the manuals at:
http://www.ruimac.com/files/docs/Manual_FR.pdf (http://www.ruimac.com/files/docs/Manual_FR.pdf) (FInd & Replace)

http://www.ruimac.com/files/docs/Aligner_manual.pdf (http://www.ruimac.com/files/docs/Aligner_manual.pdf) (Aligner)

Although not visible in this PDF, The latest version of Aligner now features smart preview windows that give you an idea of what to expect prior to performing the Alignment operation. If the previews look ok, just hit the "Do it" button.

Of course, if things dont turn out as you expected, just hit undo and try another combination to get it right....:)

http://photos7.flickr.com/10753691_4711b0b01e.jpg

Cheers / Alex

Continuumx
04-25-2005, 09:52 PM
I really like the look of this Badtastic,considering I just went through 400+ Beams/Columns and renaming process last night!

I think when I ready to add another plugin to my toolkit, these two will be the ones!

CGTalk Moderation
04-25-2005, 09:52 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.