PDA

View Full Version : Open Canvas

vinegaria
04-19-2005, 08:18 PM
umm.. hi all.. i'm new here, but been stalking cg talk as a guest for a very long time.. i hope this topic fits to this section.. fitted to the description in my opinion ^^''

anyway.. i've been wondering what do you think about Open Canvas? (it's a japanese cg program, see http://portalgraphics.net/en if you've no idea about it).. I mean it's not expensive, it works with wacom perfectly (they recommend to use a wacom with it), it saves files in *.psd files too, it weights less than 10mb and works really stable and smooth.. it's got brushes, tones, gradients etc, all customizable.. and it seems it's not that popular here..

i've been wondering why?

i mean, i'm not a pro but aiming for it and i'm working since almost 2 years as a gfx artist/illustrator... i use perfectly photoshop and painter and i still think oc is eqaully good (only for digital painting)..

I'd be curious to hear your opinions about Oc.. like, did you like it or not, never heard of it, almost all the time workiing in it, willing to try?

(and no, portalgraphics didn't send me to write this, i just noticed that the discussions here are mostly about adobe or corel's programs and so i'm asking ;) )

*edit* sorry, i just corrected some stupid typos, sorry for my english ^^'

Aniviel
04-19-2005, 08:33 PM
I think it's because OC is, uh, quite limited when compared to programs like Photoshop and Painter. OC is great (IMO) for sketching and doing lineart or whatever, and the tools it does have are nice, but it just doesn't have much else.
Then again, just for drawing into, I'd agree that it's kinda under-rated. I love drawing in it with my wacom. :D The recording and live paint-chat thingummies are great, too. <3

Nehym
04-19-2005, 09:29 PM
I'm with Aniviel on this: it is great for simple doodling and sketching, it can achieve really good work, but it's tools are nowhere near the ones Photoshop, Painter or any other program can offer.