PDA

View Full Version : Shadow Transparency and Greenscreening Help

liquidorb
04-17-2005, 07:22 PM
Hi I'm new to compositing and theres one thing that I really want to learn how to do, I feel that I'm close but there are two things holding me back.

Anyway I'm using 3d studio max 7 and I'm just making an object in the viewport with a green floor and a green background which I'm going to use to greenscreen in front of a picture I took. Well when I use my lights right I get a shadow on the green floor which I would like to be there in the final composite. However when I render the image and import it into Combustion and use the discrete keyer I get rid of all the green but I have two problems I really want fixed.

The first problem is is that the shadow now has a green tint to it much darker than the green floor and background form before, and also the shadow isn't transparent showing the ground through it which I want to happen. My though was that in max I need to somehow enable an alpha channel or something on the shadow so when i import it it will automatically show through depending on the strenght of the gray shadow.

I've been working and working on this problem for quite some time and I just dont know how I can fix it... If anyone can point me in the right direction and kind of tell me how I can do this I would be most greatful.

Hugh
04-17-2005, 10:20 PM
No, no, no, no!

If I had a dollar for every time I saw someone doing this, I wouldn't be very rich, but I'd be about $10 richer....

Greenscreen is used for generating an alpha channel when one is not immediately available. This is why it is great for live-action shooting (at least, I have yet to see a camera that can capture an alpha channel...)