PDA

View Full Version : Maya api

conomara
04-16-2005, 12:36 PM
Hello, this could very well be a stupid question but i'm new to maya apia nd just coming to terms witht the whole function set methodology.....
Q: How does one change rigid body node attributes using the api. the only compatible function set seems to be MFnDependencyNode. there doesnt seem to be a specific function set like MFnNurbsCurve for the nurbcurve node.
if anyone could shed light on ths then i'd be very grateful.

cheers

conor

playmesumch00ns
04-16-2005, 01:18 PM
MFnNurbsCurve

Description This is the function set for NURBS (Non-Uniform Rational B-Spline) curves.

The shape of a NURBS curve is described from an array of CVs (control vertices), an array of knot values, a degree, and a form. There are 3 possible "forms" for the curve: open, closed and periodic.

The open and closed forms are quite similar, and in fact a closed curve will become and open curve if either the first or last CV is moved so that they are no longer in the same position. So to create an open or closed curve, of degree N, with M spans, you must provide M+N CVs. This implies that for a degree N curve, you must specify at least N+1 CVs to get a curve with a single span.

The number of knots required for the curve will then be "M + 2*N - 1". As well, if you want the curve to start exactly at the first CV and end exactly at the last CV, then the knot vector must be structured to have N degree "multiplicity" at the beginning and end. This means that the first N knots must be identical, and the last N knots must be identical.