PDA

View Full Version : Which Wacom to buy to sketch?

doomtoo
04-15-2005, 07:09 AM
I'm not an avid sketcher, but I like it, and would like to start more with a wacom. But what would be the cheapest, although still fully functional model to get? Will the old serial ones on ebay work just as well as the new ones (push harder, and you get darker strokes, ect)? thanks-

Kirt
04-15-2005, 07:18 AM
Just about any Wacom is a good investment. If you can find an older model that's considerably cheaper on Ebay go for it. I myself have had a hand-me-down ArtPad II model that I've been using for about 4 years now without complaint. This model doesn't have the tilt pen function, fewer levels of pressure sensitivity, plugs into the COM port and uses an external power supply.

The newer models are better with the new features, but if you're budget minded and are just looking for a WACOM to get yourself away from the mouse, then you can't really go wrong with any of them. If you find yourself debating between a larger/older version and a smaller/newer version but both at about the same price ... I would recommend going with the smaller/newer one.

Good luck!

umbrellasky
04-15-2005, 07:24 AM
I have a graphire 3 wacom tablet, I'm still not used to sketching with it but it's great for colouring. I just prefer to sketch my drawings by hand. I think it's the best quality for the cheapest model. I get alog with it very well :D

shyamshriram
04-15-2005, 07:48 AM
I have Wacom intuos3 9x12, its really a great investment ! it has some special features also, like touch strips and keys on the tablet. if ur budget is less then u can buy the small size also, its very sensitive and good for all type of drawings and painting that u r looking for .

good luck
shyam :)

MettoolMan
04-15-2005, 05:42 PM
ah cool topic, I was thinking of getting one myself. Thanks for the advice guys & thanks doomtoo for posting this topic!

dioxide
04-15-2005, 07:58 PM