PDA

View Full Version : Sepia


SunTzu69
04-14-2005, 06:02 PM
How do you make an image sepia?

PixelRod
04-14-2005, 08:47 PM
One of the original premade actions that comes with Photoshop has a sepia action. Try this.I've never used it but it mabe what you're looking for.

mdwsr
04-14-2005, 11:54 PM
There is an action at actioncentral called "Thomas Nieman Tones" that works very well, in fact it gives you several examples to choose from. There are more sepia actions there as well.

Action Central (http://atncentral.com/download.htm)

Virtual Photographer is a good plugin too that will do sepia. 'click' (http://www.optikvervelabs.com/)

Stevemeister
04-15-2005, 09:57 AM
the Sepia action works well, but the nasty thing about it
is that since it uses a Desaturation step, basically what
you're doing is converting your image to 256 shades of
brown. technically, that's not sepia, but then again there
really is no one correct definition for sepia.

the commonly accepted algorithm to convert an image
into sepia can't be done by just color adjustments, and
you need to get a plugin or write your own.

another thing you can do is (a cheap way):
Image->Adjustments->Photo Filter
select Sepia, choose a high Density.
though what i prefer to do is convert a color image to blackbody first (since Sepia is a subset of Blackbody), then use the Photo Filter Sepia option. this gives me a nice deep brownish tone and the light blues become black as they should. you may also get some reds, yellows and greys, but those can be changed later in Photoshop. at least your image won't look like it was desaturated.

CGTalk Moderation
04-15-2005, 09:58 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.