PDA

View Full Version : 3d compositing.

capirossi
04-12-2005, 04:17 AM
I rendered out some passes = diffuse, specular, reflection, noise/dirt/grime, occlusion, ambient, beauty, fog, lights, dots for tracking lens flares, Z-depth.

I am new to compositing.How do i composite it in after effects.I have 6.5 pro.
Using alpha chanel ?multiply layer?

thanx for helping.

gordonrobb
04-12-2005, 08:59 AM
As a matter of interest, what 3d package are you using. I would like to know how to do this easier than I do now in Lightwave.

Anyway, try this link. It is a Lightwave setup, but the last column I think is the After Effects setup details. http://www.g-3d.com/Newer_AAC_3d_multi.html

Hope this helps.

capirossi
04-13-2005, 08:36 AM
I plan to use After Effects.
The guide is usefull. Is the layer arrange from up to down in the guide?

Many term such as differences or screen I do not quite understand.

Thanks anyway.

gordonrobb
04-19-2005, 08:32 AM
Sorry, I meant which 3D package did you render out the files.

As for the layers, when you add one of the passes as a layer, immediateley to the right of the name of the layer, is the mode button. Press this to change the blending type. I do not know what order they should go in and plan to mess about with it myself.

Let me know if this helps at all.

capirossi
04-19-2005, 09:37 AM
I uses maya.
I tested AE.Cool, still exploring.
If you could figure out the layer composition in order from up to down.Please gimme some tips.
Thanks.

dwkim
04-20-2005, 05:53 AM
This is how I would comp it from lowest level to top:

layer type: transfer mode
beauty: normal
diffuse: normal (with transparency to adjust the beauty)
occlusion: multiply
ambient: add (or screen) (can be used to add slight ambience lighting)
specular: add (or screen) (can be used to create specular blooming)
reflection: add (or screen)
noise/dirt/grime: depends on the image, but normal or multiplied
fog: depends on the image, but I use lighten to give atmosphere
lights: add