PDA

View Full Version : What is Inferno / Flame

suradtaylor
04-11-2005, 01:39 AM
I'm a newbie, and I know it sounds funny or stupid asking this, but hey, if I dont ask here where else can show my dumb skull :) , What exactly is the difference between Inferno / Flame & Combustion? I've downloaded a trail version of combustion and I have a good idea what it is, but Inferno comes across as some sort of special system (like Avid's Mojo) yet with what I read on their site it seems its a software.
Can anybody please explain?

adyy
04-11-2005, 02:30 PM
flame and flint and inferno are some sort of a compositing/editing software written by Discreet. they are described as a special system because are developed and fine-tuned for SGI machines and sold only with a machine and a storage system.
combustion is a flame/flint/inferno (reduced and more cheaper) version for the PC . . .

suradtaylor
04-11-2005, 09:46 PM
Thank you adyy for your very brief and detailed summary. I also discovered some threads below, where it was covered elaboratly. But your summary is so precise. Thanks once more

adyy
04-12-2005, 12:28 PM
----------:thumbsup:----------

Backenbotten
04-23-2005, 07:01 PM
For your further information: Combustion and FFI (flame, flint, inferno) does NOT come from the branch from the same stem. In 1997, Discreet only had FFI for the SGI platform. To cover the Windows platform, they bought the programs "Paint" and "Effect" from Denim software, and as far as I know basically combined those two programs, redesigned the interface to make it slightly look like FFI and put in a few functions from older FFI systems, and Combustion was born. In Combustion 2.0, the particle system was taken from the separate particle package "Particle illusion". In the latest package, more features has been ported from FFI, but the software still stems more from "Paint" and "Effect" than FFI.