PDA

View Full Version : Is GI actually used in production environments?

mr_wowtrousers
04-09-2005, 07:22 AM
Heya, I am still new at CG stuff but love lighting/rendering. Of course, at first I got very excited with Max's light tracer, radiosity, mental ray etc, but was stunned by how slow it was. Now, obviously larger production houses have more grunt on hand than I have in my bedroom (ooo-errr!) but is GI/radiosity basically a brute force approach more realistically suited for stills at this point in time?

I have been learning to set up more effective light rigs with the standard lights and of course the results are quicker and often you are allowed more flexibility to make quick changes.

So, my question is: "Is GI used in actual, real production environments or is it just a flashy technique at this point in time".

I am going to focus more on using basic lights as I think that will give me a better grounding in dressing a scene, but would be interested in hearing opinions or experiences.

Cheers, big ears.

ThirdEye
04-09-2005, 09:17 AM
It depends on the productions, it's been used even in large ones (i hear Shrek has used its proprietary GI, but don't quote me on that) but usually you also hear "hey we couldn't even afford raytrace, nevermind radiosity!"

playmesumch00ns
04-09-2005, 11:01 AM
GI is being used more and more in feature film vfx. As mentioned Shrek 2 used GI passes rendered on low-res geometry that were then rolled into the final render.

I can't speak for other productions, but here we're using GI for lighting some environments. This is then baked into textures for final rendering. We've also got to do lots of specular reflections (a river) as well that we're raytracing.

Another guy here on a different project is using GI on a character with a clever technique to keep render times low.