PDA

View Full Version : VJ performance, anyone?

bee (the hard worker)
04-07-2005, 10:40 AM
Hi guys,
I'm not sure if this is the right place to ask this, but this is a CG forum so here it goes...

I'm in my final project in "Communication and Multimedia Design". Usually ppl that are in this course participate in webprojects. As I'm pretty much done with webthings I decided to engage in a different subject: a VJ performance. As I've never done this before I don't have a clue of where to start. (I did try, though. Just having too much doubts with every step I take)

I already worked out the full concept of the (live) performance:
It's about me losing my creativity and all the feelings that come with the frustration of not being yourself and knowing that you have to change but you can't. It's about being empty, being emotionless at first, then bettering and in the end turning your back (with a big "f--- you") to everything that made you feel the way you were feeling.

This project is basically based on refinding myself and my creativity. (There's a long story behind all this, but this is what the performance is going to be about)

The problem isn't telling the story because I know what I want to say. The thing is that I don't have a clue of how to visualize this story and let (repeating?) images tell it.

Can you guys give me some pointers of where I should look? Anyone with experience in this? (I'd like to combine video with animation. This is not going to be a big problem since I've done that before. Just wanted to point out that I'm not thinking 3D-visuals.)

Thanks in advance.

creativezit
04-07-2005, 02:41 PM
bzz bee,
I am a vj using mostly combustion as my clip creating tool. I am a lot into animation and create and mix only digital images created or captured digitaly.