PDA

View Full Version : Location: Right side of brain, 4:43am

macievelli
04-07-2005, 10:19 AM
First, I must say I love the idea of this forum. Kudos to the mods...such a great surprise, even among this fantastic site. I find myself coming here more and more, as daunting and humbling an experience as it is.

Struggling with my insomnia, I wanted to post some things. Perhaps they will be of some value to beginning artists, at the very least I hope this will be an interesting read.

I've been an artist all my life. I started sellign my work commercially while in the 7th grade. I'm now 38. I have always worked as an artist...sometimes as a "purist" (as during my time as an apprentice and then porcelain sculptor), and sometime as an art whore (as art director for a couple of ad agencies)...whatever it took to keep the outlet open for my creativity. In the course of devoting one's life to a creative pursuit, you have to make sacrifices, right? I know many of you know exactly what I'm talking about. It keeps getting better and hopefully so does my work. I have worked with digital media as a profession since 1983, but continue to work with several forms of more traditional media. I am completely self taught in both forms, except for my time at the aformentioned sculpture studio.

Throughout the course of my work on computers I have developed a philosophy I use as a catalyst for my work: Design beyond media. At its core, this means creating outside the boundaries of any particular medium of delivery; That one should be as comfortable working in one form as another, utilizing whatever tool the idea necessitates. The idea should control the tool, not the other way around.