PDA

View Full Version : NURBS and Tracking algorithms

Joe Drumm
04-05-2005, 12:25 PM
Hi,

I've been programming in C++ for about 12 or so years, but mainly in areas other then computer graphics. Anyway, lately I've been playing around in my free time with some graphics programming lately (has always interested me, but never did much more then draw and rotate a cube on my Amiga back in the day) and am interested in being able to display and interact with b-splines. What I'm looking for is an interactive way for the user to click points and have the curve build up, for example the way it works in some applications such as Commotion, Combustion, AfterEffects, Photoshop, etc. Can anyone point me in the right direction where I could find some information on the algorithms behind this? I have come across some the of the math, and while I can follow some of it, I'm no math expert. I'm looking for something more oriented to a programmer with some code examples or something that explains the math in a bit more down to earth level. The rest of the application I can handle no problem, but it's the rendering of the b-splines that I'm stuck on.

Also, out of curiousity, I am interested in reading about the techniques behind image morphing as well a tracking (i.e. tracker in combustion / after effects).

Thanks for any tips,

Joe

nurcc
04-06-2005, 08:23 AM
For practical implementation advice on graphics topics, I generally find gamasutra to touch most topics, although sometimes they don't go too in-depth. They have an article on nurbs (http://www.gamasutra.com/features/19991117/macri_01.htm) that might be good (haven't actually read it), although they require a free registration. It looks like they have sample code.