I'm currently a student who can draw:

Gesture
Legs
Arms
Torsos
Feet
Neck
Back

All except the face. No matter how much I practice.... its hard!!! Can anyone please show me the way??!?!!?

Enayla
04-04-2005, 11:40 PM
Painting faces would probably be the most difficult part of painting the human anatomy - because it is in the face that we show all expressions. You can tell instantly if there is something amiss, even if it is a small thing like one eye being lightly off or the mouth sitting too high up.

Try by picking the face apart and train the separate features first. Spend a week drawing nothing but noses, from all sorts of angles and any and every shape and size. See if you can't figure out how the nose 'works' after that, and put it in a smooth, featureless face. Put a mirror next to you, and study your own face -- as well as other people's.

There's no easy way to 'show' you how to paint a face - if you are looking for simple proportions, there might be some help for you at portrait-artist.org ... but if you're already past that phase, give what I said a try. Pick the face apart and try the features out individually - once you figure out how each and every one works, it'll be easier to put them all together.

A small tip is that if you manage to pull the eyes off, the rest will follow more easily. The eyes are, in my opinion, the most difficult and important bit in a face.

Best of luck to you.

argyre
04-04-2005, 11:47 PM
Good point! I shall practice!

By the way... nice entry for the master/servant challenge.

WyattHarris
04-04-2005, 11:52 PM
I notice you didn't put hands in your list. The hands seem harder to me because while they are both difficult, the face is more rewarding on the finish.