PDA

View Full Version : Importing Alpha Data for a layer

loply
09-28-2002, 08:21 PM
Greetings,

Im new to AfterEffects (although not to the subject in general) and have a burning quesiton.

I have a video containing some scrolling text (think: movie credits) and another containing a background (think: shot of rippling water). Both were rendered with 3DStudio and for reasons to do with 3DStudio I need to merge them with Aftereffects.

So, in other words I need to put the text "onto" the background video. The trouble is, I cant figure out how to get alpha data for the text. Thus far, the best I have been able to do is just put the text and background into a composition and set the text opacity to 50% which isnt very good.

I tried rendering the text from 3DStudio in a range of formats hoping that Alpha data would be saved with the video, but no luck.

My question is this: How can I render the text video ontop of the background video using the texts RGB as the alpha, or by importing a rendering of the texts alpha?

Thanks for any help :cool:

fred
09-30-2002, 12:50 PM
if you render the alpha seperately you can place the clip ontop of the text layer and then select the text layer and choose track matte -> luma matte. this will work!
but you should also check if it is really impossible to render an RGBA image from 3DS (makes things much easier!)? Have you checked in photoshop if your renders have an alpha channel? if yes, it seems like you?ve choosen the wrong option when importing your footage. it should be "alpha integrated - premultiplied with:". Maybe that?s why it doesn?t work!
Hope i coud help!

loply
10-02-2002, 07:59 PM
I dont know which format to render the video in which will include the alpha channel. I tried a range, but when imported into AE they simply had all white alpha data. There doesnt seem to be any options regarding importing the alpha data in the File->Import dialog box... :(