PDA

View Full Version : Making a custom template for a snowboard shape?

Kickflipkid687
03-31-2005, 11:08 PM
Hi,

Im pretty new to Photoshop, and I wanted to make a template of some kinda that fits the shape of my board texture, so someone could just take a paint bucket and fill the templlate with colors and designs and not have to draw out the snowboard shape. I want to make a template of the snowboard shape with a blank space inside of it so paint it. How can I do this? I know there has to be a way.

Thanks alot,

Matt

mdwsr
04-01-2005, 12:09 AM
Use the pen tool, then turn into a selection. Guru's (http://www.gurusnetwork.com/tutorials/two_d/photoshop/essential_techniques/) has a good tutorial on the pen tool.

Kickflipkid687
04-01-2005, 01:33 AM
Hi,

THat sort of worked, but Im having a hard time with the pen tool. I click a point, then another then i get those handles and when i tried to shape it around my board the lines get all messed up. How can I just do straight lines connected to each other? Then once I do all that and complete the shape, how do I make it so you can only paint inside that new outline? I want it to be like, you close the image, then when you re-open it, u can just use paint bucket and fill in color and not allow you to draw outside the shape.

Matt

mdwsr
04-01-2005, 01:57 AM
Turn on the rubber band first, after you select the pen tool look at the top toolbar and you'll see a bunch of shapes. Just to the right of the little sideways star shape there is a little down arrow, click that then make sure rubber band is selected.

Now you'll have to practice a little drawing with the pen tool, but when you get it close to the shape you want use the direct select tool (type "A" for a shortcut to it). Use the path select tool to move around your adjustment points until it's just right. Read the tut I linked to above, it's a really good one.