PDA

View Full Version : CMYK Info

CypherXero
03-29-2005, 12:39 AM
I need to learn about CMYK, how it's used, how to properly use it with Photoshop CS, and how to properly print images with CMYK for large format (professional) printers. I'm very good with Photoshop (http://cypherxero.deviantart.com), but I have no experience with CMYK, and printing documents with professional printers using this color space. Any information and/or links to tutorials would greatly be appricated. I guess I'm just used to working in the RGB color space, making images only for display devices, not printing.

dudders
03-29-2005, 10:32 PM
hmm not much to really say, other than you really need to calibrate your monitor correctly for accurate output.

Here are some noters:

CMYK colours can appear a lot duller than the screen presents. Its worth investing in a good printer to proof your own work before sending it away.
When using large expanses of black make sure you have whats called a shiner in there. This is a mixture of inks rather than straight black which can appear flat and not black at all. This is useful especially for large black text. In photoshop you sometimes have to trust the values for this because sometimes it doesnt look right. I use a 60% Cyan with 100% black for a shiner, but it depends whether you want a warm or a cool black.
Keep in mind that printers can sometimes go off registration, or the different plates they use for the colours c,m,y and black can go out of line slightly. For small stuff like 9 point text or below try and use only one plate of colour otherwise you can get nastly blurry text.
Orange flat colours are hard to recreate with cmyk, so is green. Orange usually comes out kind of browny.
You can use special colours which come from a pantone reference book for vibrant flat colours, you should invest in one of these but they are expensive.